Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Indiana Tax Rate Chart

The Indiana individual adjusted gross income tax rate is 3.23 percent.

Indiana Local Income Tax Rates

Rates as applicable 1st January 2022. You can also check Indiana Tax Calculator

Adams County1.62%1.62%
Allen County1.48%1.48%
Bartholomew County1.75%1.75%
Benton County1.79%1.79%
Blackford County1.50%1.50%
Boone County1.50%1.50%
Brown County2.52%2.52%
Carroll County2.27%2.27%
Cass County2.95%2.95%
Clark County2.00%2.00%
Clay County2.25%2.25%
Clinton County2.25%2.25%
Crawford County1.00%1.00%
Daviess County1.50%1.50%
Dearborn County1.20%1.20%
Decatur County2.35%2.35%
DeKalb County2.13%2.13%
Delaware County1.50%1.50%
Dubois County1.00%1.00%
Elkhart County2.00%2.00%
Fayette County2.37%2.37%
Floyd County1.35%1.35%
Fountain County2.10%2.10%
Franklin County1.50%1.50%
Fulton County2.38%2.38%
Gibson County0.70%0.70%
Grant County2.55%2.55%
Greene County1.75%1.75%
Hamilton County1.00%1.00%
Hancock County1.74%1.74%
Harrison County1.00%1.00%
Hendricks County1.50%1.50%
Henry County1.50%1.50%
Howard County1.75%1.75%
Huntington County1.95%1.95%
Jackson County2.10%2.10%
Jasper County2.86%2.86%
Jay County2.45%2.45%
Jefferson County0.35%0.35%
Jennings County3.15%3.15%
Johnson County1.00%1.00%
Knox County1.00%1.00%
Kosciusko County1.00%1.00%
LaGrange County1.65%1.65%
Lake County1.50%1.50%
LaPorte County0.95%0.95%
Lawrence County1.75%1.75%
Madison County2.25%1.75%
Marion County2.02%2.02%
Marshall County1.25%1.25%
Martin County1.75%1.75%
Miami County2.54%2.54%
Monroe County1.35%1.35%
Montgomery County2.30%2.30%
Morgan County2.72%2.72%
Newton County1.00%1.00%
Noble County1.75%1.75%
Ohio County1.25%1.25%
Orange County1.75%1.75%
Owen County1.30%1.30%
Parke County2.65%2.65%
Perry County1.81%1.81%
Pike County0.75%0.75%
Porter County0.50%0.50%
Posey County1.25%1.25%
Pulaski County3.38%3.38%
Putnam County2.00%2.00%
Randolph County3.00%3.00%
Ripley County1.38%1.38%
Rush County2.10%2.10%
St. Joseph County1.75%1.75%
Scott County2.16%2.16%
Shelby County1.50%1.50%
Spencer County0.80%0.80%
Starke County1.71%1.71%
Steuben County1.79%1.79%
Sullivan County0.60%0.60%
Switzerland County1.00%1.00%
Tippecanoe County1.10%1.10%
Tipton County2.60%2.60%
Union County1.75%1.75%
Vanderburgh County1.20%1.20%
Vermillion County1.50%1.50%
Vigo County2.00%2.00%
Wabash County2.90%2.90%
Warren County2.12%2.12%
Warrick County0.50%0.50%
Washington County2.00%2.00%
Wayne County1.50%1.50%
Wells County2.10%2.10%
White County2.32%2.32%
Whitley County1.48%1.48%

Indiana Sales Tax Rate

The state sales tax rate of Indiana is 7%. Indiana cities and/or municipalities don’t have a city sales tax.

Indiana Tax Penalties

  • Liability for penalty – 10% or $5, whichever is greater.
  • Penalty for Failure to file a tax return; preparation by Department – 20% .
  • Failure to file a tax return; fraudulent intent to evade tax 100% penalty
  • Faulty payment (ie: bad checks) penalty of 10% of the unpaid tax or the value of the faulty payment, whichever is smaller for first 10 days, after that a 30% penalty multiplied by the value of the payment or unpaid tax, whichever is smaller.
  • Failure to file information return – a penalty of $10 for each failure to file a timely return, not to exceed $25,000 in any one calendar year, is imposed.


The rate of interest for an underpayment of tax and an excess tax payment for calendar year 2022 will be 3%. Therefore Indiana govt will charge 3% on any overdue payment of tax and shall also provide same interest rate while refunding any amount late.

Indiana Gasoline Use Tax Rate for 2022

Based on the previous calculations, the gasoline use tax rate for the period from February 1, 2022, to February 28, 2022, is seventeen and three-tenths cents ($0.173) per gallon.

Please check with Indiana gov site

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.


Get Tax Articles Alerts

Stay updated with all latest updates,upcoming events & much more.

Add New Playlist